2010 NEA Jazz Masters: An auspicious crew!



National Endowment for the Arts Announces the 2010 NEA Jazz Masters


Nation’s highest honor in jazz is bestowed on eight living legends


Washington , DC – The National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) today announced the recipients of the 2010 NEA Jazz Masters Award — the nation’s highest honor in this distinctly American music. The eight recipients will each receive a $25,000 grant award and be publicly honored in an awards ceremony and concert on Tuesday, January 12, 2010 at Frederick P. Rose Hall, home of Jazz at Lincoln Center .


The eight 2010 NEA Jazz Masters are:






City, State


Muhal Richard Abrams


Pianist, Composer, Educator           


New York , NY


Kenny Barron


Pianist, Composer, Educator           


Brooklyn , NY


Bill Holman


Composer, Arranger, Saxophonist           


Los Angeles , CA


Bobby Hutcherson


Vibraphonist, Marimba Player, Composer


Montara , CA


Yusef Lateef           


Saxophonist, Flutist, Oboist, Composer, Educator


Amherst , MA


Annie Ross




New York , NY


Cedar Walton


Pianist, Composer


Brooklyn , NY


George Avakian

, a jazz producer, manager, critic, and educator from Riverdale , New York , will receive the 2010 A.B. Spellman NEA Jazz Masters Award for Jazz Advocacy.


For the full release, please go to http://www.arts.gov/news/news09/2010-NEA-Jazz-Masters.html



This entry was posted in General Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *